Starting Fresh

Hello all,

My name is Rachel and I am an incoming freshman at the University of Iowa. Being an incoming freshman is scary. No matter what assurances anyone else will give you, you’re about to start off on a brand new journey of your own. It is a time of gaining independence, pursuing knowledge, making new friends, and it is a time of self-discovery. I am hoping to reach out to fellow students or prospective college students by writing about some of these moments as I begin my journey in August.


Choosing a college is the first step of anyone’s journey. This is a very big decision to make, as I’m sure you’re well aware of. There are multiple aspects to consider such as the cost, the location, the education quality for your intended major, and the size of campus, just to name a few. Personally, I had my doubts about selecting a college that was only 30 minutes away from my hometown. I wanted a fresh start in college, and I wanted a big change that I wasn’t sure Iowa could offer me. After countless visits down to the campus for sushi at Formosa, or spending the night at my brother’s apartment I came to realize that Iowa has its own atmosphere and energy that makes it so entirely different from home. Both of my parents attended the University of Iowa, and my brother is going to be in his 3rd year there studying engineering. I was nervous about simply following in their footsteps without exploring my other options. After applying to other midwest schools and searching for other opportunities, Iowa kept popping up in my mind. I knew I had to go with my gut instinct and follow my hawkeye blood to Iowa City for the fall semester of 2015. The university offered me outstanding scholarships and they have a great business school for my business major with marketing and management interests. Being close to home isn’t a bad thing either. I love my family and my pets and knowing that they are only a short drive away is extremely comforting. My decision to attend the University of Iowa was my first big decision that affects my future. It might be scary, but if you follow your gut instinct like I did, I’m sure you’ll end up right where you belong.


For the 2015-2016 school year I will be living in the brand new Petersen residence hall. I am extremely pumped to move in to my new living quarters and decorate it and make the space my home. As a wannabe interior designer this is a very exciting time for me. Going shopping for dorm bedding and decor as well as other dorm necessities has been a blast. At this point I think that I have enough throw pillows for all of my fellow residents staying on floor 7. I am concerned about the space because room dimensions have not been released yet and I would love it if I didn’t have to loft my bed. Either way, I am confident that I can turn a dorm room into a cozy, relaxing space to live. I will be posting more on decorating and my shopping list for school later as my move-in-date approaches!

I can’t wait for my fresh start at Iowa and for my future to really begin.

Go hawks!

Rachel

Leave a comment